pre-rome and paris

On Thursday in my British Life and Culture class we had a homeless lady come and speak with us. She has been homeless for sixteen years and it was heartbreaking. Homelessness is much more prevalent in London than at home (it’s also a giant city and has free health care) so it’s really very common to see several homeless people on the street in a day. It definitely put my own life into perspective a bit more.

Today I spent five hours in the British Museum. I saw the Portland Vase, bogman, Sutton Hoo findings, the Neriad Temple, the artifacts from the Parthenon, Cleopatra’s mummy, the Rosetta stone, and so many other amazing things. It was phenomenal. I think we managed to see about half of it and it was really phenomenal. Everyone must go.

I leave for Rome and Paris tomorrow and I’m half excited half nervous. I think it will be awesome but we’re only going to be in each for about 2.5 days which really doesn’t feel sufficient.  We are going to see the Vatican and the Colosseum for sure though so I’m excited.  I’ll take four million photos and upload as many as I can before I come home for Christmas…although it might take me that long.

But right now, I’m just eating Pralines and Cream ice cream with real CREAM an it’s amazing. I’m going to weigh 2 stone more when I come home, but god it’s good.

Anyway, I’ll be gone but feel free to send me emails and messages because it’s pretty nice to come home to messages. 😀 If I get access to a computer while I’m gone I’ll try to post a brief message telling everyone I’m still alive.

Published in: on October 12, 2007 at 9:25 pm  Leave a Comment